Merry Christmas

20131225-113802.jpg

Merry Christmas everyone! I hope you are all having a wonderful holiday season. I have very much enjoyed having some time off with my family. My daughter is in winter break from school for the next couple of weeks so it’s been great to hang out with her.

We are getting ready to go to my brother-in- law’s house for dinner and gift exchange with my husbands side of the family. We have been doing secret santa for the last couple of years since there are so many adults, it had gotten a bit too expensive for everyone. All of the kids still get presents from everybody.

We also do potluck for dinners, I am bringing my infamous rainbow jello and I’m making a corn pudding. The rainbow jello is always requested for every get together, it is super easy if time consuming and looks (and tastes) great.

Jello salads are making a comeback, they were really popular in the 50s and 60s. So they are a perfect potluck dish for the retro woman.

RAINBOW JELLO

Jello mold, I use plastic bundt shaped ring mold that has a lid and a removable bottom
4-6 boxes of 3oz. Boxes of jello, various colors
Cool whip, thawed
Water
Measuring cup
Bowls (optional)

Directions
Choose jello colors/flavored, I usually try to stick to a theme ie red,orange, yellow, green for thanksgiving or red, blue, and yellow for my nephews superman birthday party. Choose whatever you like. My mold requires 5 boxes.

Bring 1 cup of water to a boil, mix in first layer of jello powder. Stir until dissolved. Pour 2/3 of a cup into mold. Place in refrigerator, on a flat surface, let chill for at least 20 minutes or until solid.

Meanwhile, Mix a couple of spoonfuls of cool whip into remaining 1/3 jello liquid. Stir until melted.

When first layer is solid, pour cool whip mixture into mold. Return to fridge for 15-20 minutes.

Repeat with remaining jello until mold is full. Chill for at least an hour before serving. Invert mold and release jello, slice to serve.

Notes: the first layer takes the longest to cool, since it is usually the hottest when going into the fridge. I prepare the third layer (second box) right after putting the second layer into the fridge, if that makes sense. This gives it time to come to room temperature before pouring. It cuts down on cooling time between layers and minimizes the chance of melting the previous layer. You want your layers to be pretty solid before adding the next so the layers are crisp and neat.

If your jello doesn’t want to release from the mold, run it under hot water for a few seconds and try again.

I only use one glass measuring cup and rinse it out between colors, you can use as many as you want but only one is absolutely essential.

20131226-110307.jpg

These were the flavors and order I used them in this time. I was planning on doing just red and green with a yellow layer in the middle but I was out of lime and had a surplus of blue. The best part of this recipe is you can use what you have on hand.

20131226-102901.jpg

This is about halfway done, I have a few layers in there.

20131226-102906.jpg

I have a Tupperware jello mold, I'm pretty sure it's from the mid-90s but I'm sure Tupperware still sells them, if not any mold will work even a cake pan. It'll just make it a little harder to get out at the end but will work fine.

20131226-102912.jpg

The finished product! I tried to find a good angle but everybody was trying push me out of the way to eat. My husbands aunt tries to steal the whole thing every time. It is delicious, how can you go wrong with jello. It is gluten free and could easily be made vegetarian. I saw a recipe for vegan jello, so they’re out there.

I hope you and your family enjoy!

Leave a comment