Mini banana cream protein pies

I have a huge sweet tooth, on my Pinterest the desserts outnumber the healthy food ten to one. So while I have some pretty lofty goal for this year as far as weight loss and health I am unwilling to give up desserts. I have seen a lot of people baking with protein powder so it was something I wanted to try. I get pretty tired of just drinking protein shakes and it seems like a great way to get the protein and make it more delectable. I am going to be drinking the protein shakes anyway so why not eat it instead?

I love banana flavor, I’m the only person I’ve ever met that likes circus peanuts :). I found a banana cream muscle milk protein powder at costco today and decided to make mini banana cream pies with it. It turned out great and I feel good about eating it since it is mostly healthy. I did add some whipped cream to make it extra yummy and more of an authentic banana cream pie

20140104-212231.jpg

Mini Banana Cream Protein Pies

4 Mini graham cracker pie crust
4 scoops Banana cream protein powder (muscle milk brand)
1 packet Knox unflavored gelatin
1 tsp Vanilla extract
1-2 tsp Agave syrup
1 cup Boiling water

20140104-212621.jpg

Boil 1 cup of water and add 1 packet of gelatin, stir to combine. Add agave to taste, I only added about a half a teaspoon since the protein powder is already sweet.

Dissolve 4 scoops of protein powder in the hot water, add one scoop at a time and mix completely. Stir in vanilla extract.

Pour pie mixture into prepared crust, dividing evenly between them. Refrigerate until firm, about 2-3 hours.

20140104-213822.jpg

Optional, top with whipped cream. Enjoy!

Makes 4 servings
Nutrition facts: 300 calories per serving, 19 g protein, 32 g carbs, 11.5 g fat
Not bad when compared to traditional Banana Cream pie, which has 387 calories mostly from fat. And includes 40 g carbs but only 6 g protein and 20 g fat (according to this website ). If you wanted to lose almost all of the carbs you could omit the crust and pour the banana mixture into ramekins instead. This substitution would reduce it by 100 calories. Resulting in a decadent dessert that is only 200 calories, 19 g protein, 19 g carbs and only 7 grams of fat. I may have to try that next time, but I’m not terribly concerned about the crust 🙂

20140104-213914.jpg

20140104-213919.jpg

One thought on “Mini banana cream protein pies

Leave a Reply

