New year, new me

It is the start of a new year and with that comes the renewed commitment to life goals, especially fitness goals. I have been in a weightless/ fitness journey for a few years now. I have been doing Crossfit for two years this month and I love it, unfortunately I have hit a plateau. I have decided to compete in a bikini bodybuilding competition, I feel like having concrete goals help keep me motivated. I have no problem with the exercise part but sticking to a diet is a little harder. I like food, a lot. I love bread and potatoes, I’m also a candy person. My favorite snack is Crispix mix, which is so good but so bad.

My competition is May 31st so it is time to hit the ground running!

20140102-165202.jpg

Ok, I’m not trying to look like Arnold. My goal is more like this:

20140102-182816.jpg

My starting weight is 160 and my measurements are 41-28-42
My goal is 130 and 40-26-40.

The first step is eating better. I have been sick on and off for the last couple months, the last week has been really bad. I was finally feeling up to meal prep today so I cooked up a bunch of chicken breasts and brown rice to portion out for the next week. I weighed out 4 ounces of chicken, it was a little more precooked weight to accommodate for moisture lost during baking. I made a big batch of organic brown rice, cooked with chicken stock, garlic and herbs. I like to preseason the rice since adding butter or something to is it later would counter all the healthfulness. I also made enough veggies to round out the meal. I portioned out snacks too. I have a bunch of raw veggies for snacks and some mandarin oranges for something sweet. I have a serious sweet tooth and so instead of trying to cut out sweets all together I am replacing candy with a healthier option like fruit.

This is what my lunch for the next week looks like

20140102-170653.jpg

Main course

20140102-170745.jpg

4oz baked chicken breast, 1/2 cup of brown rice, 1/2 cup steamed mixed vegetables

Snacks

20140102-170905.jpg

20140102-170913.jpg

In order to fuel my massive workout routine and build muscle, proper nutrition is crucial. I am planning a 1800 calorie meal plan, which doesn’t sound like much but when you eat whole, real food you get full easily. It may not be a lot of calories, but it is nutrient dense and i never feel hungry. The most important thing is tracking my macros, which are carbs, protein and fat. I use a 40-40-20 system, which means that 40% of my diet is made of protein and carbs and 20% is fat. I try to hit 130-150 grams protein, 180 grams of carbs and 40 grams of fat. Though I may be a little under on the protein and over in the carbs some days.

My daily menu looks like this:
Breakfast
2 eggs (204 cal, 13.5 g protein, 2.7 g carb, 14.9 g fat)
Oatmeal 1/2 cup dry oats plus water, 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt, dried cranberries, plus brown sugar to taste (total nutrition info 240 cal, 16.5 g protein, 37.7 g carbs, 3 g fat)

Snack
1 serving protein shake (190 cal, 28 g protein, 6 g carbs, 5 g fat)

Lunch
4oz chicken breast (124 cal, 22 g protein, 4 g fat)
1/2 cup brown rice (320 cal, 6 g protein, 66 g carbs, 4 g fat)
1/2 cup mixed vegetables (45 cal, 1.5 g protein, 9 carbs)

Snack
Raw veggies, assorted (about 50-80 calories depending on variety)
1 cup Mandarin orange segments (154 cal, 40.8 g carbs, 0.3 g fat)

Dinner
4 oz lean protein (beef, fish, or poultry) (100-250 calories, depending on type)
Veggies (50 cal)
1 cup dry roasted Sweet potato (114 cal, 2.1 g protein, 26.8 g carb, 0.1 g fat)

Total 1810 cal, 124 g protein, 198 g carbs, 52 g fat

This is a sample menu, I couldn’t eat the same thing day after day for the next six months. I enjoy food and variety too much. But I will stick to something similar, in both content and schedule. I will keep you all posted on progress. Wish me luck!

How about you dear readers? Do you have any New Years resolutions or goals for the new year?

One thought on “New year, new me

Leave a Reply

