Thrifty! eBay finds series, 1

I have stated before that I am BIG on thrift and second-hand stores.  A very small percentage of my wardrobe is new or not pre-owned.  Since I love vintage and the 1950s style, it makes it both budget friendly and practical to shop second-hand and vintage stores.  I have scored huge on more than a few occasions.  For example, I love Pinup Girl Clothing, their clothes are fabulous but they are pricey.  I have a very strict clothing/disposable income budget since we only have one income right now,  if I were to buy a dress from PUG it would blow my entire clothes budget for between one and two months.  I do splurge occasionally but I tend to go the more wallet friendly route most often.  I could get 6 true vintage outfits at my local thrift store for the price of one vintage reproduction dress.  Sometimes you just have to go for quantity, especially when you don’t have to sacrifice quality.  I have found cashmere and pure silk blouses for a few dollars, things that would be out of my price point to buy new.

I don’t live in a big city so my local vintage market is pretty small.  I would love to make a trip to San Francisco or LA to spend a week shopping, but until then I like to make due with that big thrift store on the internet: eBay!

eBay is awesome.  I have bought and sold various items (lots of clothes) and have yet to be disappointed.  Of course there are pitfalls to avoid when making any purchases online but they are minimal.   One of the biggest issues is “fit”, you have to count on the accuracy of the seller’s measurements and their description of the item.  It sucks to not be able to try things on before buying but most sellers will allow returns if necessary.  there is so much to choose from that if the listed measurements don’t fit your body it isn’t too heartbreaking to move on to the next thing.

So today I want to start my “eBay finds” series.  I will show you all the awesome things that I have found on eBay, include price, a link to the seller if they are a “store”, etc.   I’m letting you into my secret, this is a great way to get vintage clothes for a bargain.

First up is a yellow pencil dress and “jacket”

IMG_7601

The dress has a black spaghetti strap bodice that attaches to the yellow skirt.  The jacket (for lack of a better term) is a wrap style, it doesn’t have any buttons and I had to add a belt to keep it closed.  I’m not sure when it was made, it looks like 80s to me, but it has that pin-up vibe to it so I dig it.

This outfit cost me $6.99 plus $5.00 shipping.  Not a bad outfit for $12.  The belt had come with a different dress I had bought a few years ago and the shoes were $8 flats at Payless.  My entire outfit cost less than $20 which is a good 80% less than purchasing a similar “suit” from a vintage repro company.

The material is a bit sheer in the light, I have been meaning to get a half slip and this might be the final push I need to go to the store.

IMG_7603

Here is a close up of the fabric:

IMG_7604

It was listed as a polka dot, but as you can see the dots are actually square.  I don’t mind, I really like them.  I have a lot of polka dots and so this one is a little more unique 🙂

That is definitely something to look out for when making purchases, things aren’t always listed 100% accurately.  Look at the pictures really thoroughly, I wouldn’t buy something that only had one picture because you don’t get a full view of the garment.  Read and reread the description and email the seller with any questions.  If the are legitimate and reputable, they will gladly answer all of your questions.  Be wary of sellers who don’t respond or are snippy with you, they obviously don’t deserve your money.

If you are cautious and aware, you can make some great purchases.  Until I can make my thrifting pilgrimage to California I will continue to make due with eBay, you can’t beat the price on a lot of things and it is super convenient to shop at home.  Plus I will continue to share it with all of you!  Stay tuned to more shopping adventures 🙂

 

One thought on “Thrifty! eBay finds series, 1

  1. Cute dress. It looks great on you. It reminds me of a yellow suit I bought in 1986 (damn I sound old). No polka dots, but the buttons and trim were black. The jacket was short sleeved and peplum. I paid way more for it than I ever had for an outfit back then solely because it had such a retro 1940s vibe ( my grandma even said it reminded her of something she had back in the day). You look way to young to remember (or even have been around back then, but retro 40s, 50s, and early 60s styles were hot in the 80s. I am having way better luck finding affordable 80s stuff with a 40s-60s vibe than I am finding affordable real 40s- 60s vintage.

    On a side note. If you make it to San Francisco, hit the haight ashbury district, tons of stuff from vintage stores, secondhand shops, and thrift stores. The vintage stores have an amzing selection but seriously steep prices, even more than in San Jose. The secondhand stores are better price wise but I still felt that they were pricier than the same stores in the south bay. If you’re gonna be in town more than a day, I highly recomend driving down 45 minutes to San Jose for a day. We only have about 3 actual vintage shops but really cute stuff, and one of the stores, “Moon Zoom” is huge and they pack a megaton of stuff in there (and the prices seem to be a bit lower than other vintage stores). For resale shops, the “CrossRoads” store in San Jose is cheaper than the one in San Fran. While real vintage clothing is still expensive (although cheaper than san fran), San Jose is great for really affordable vintage accesories. I collect hats, and I usually pay anywhere from $15 to $35 for a hat (and we are talkin real not repro).

Leave a Reply

