Vintage style personality

I  love movies set in or made in the 1950s.  I could watch Grease, Crybaby or The Girl Can’t Help It any day.  I was thinking about how fashion is used to let the audience know the characters of the people on the screen.  For example, in Grease you have the good girl-Sandy and the bad girl-Rizzo.  It is pretty obvious who is who based on their clothes.  Sandy wears pastels and poodle skirts, ties her hair up in a ponytail and is very fresh-faced.

I had a heck of a time finding a picture of Sandy pre-makeover.

Rizzo on the other hand, looks like trouble.  When we first see her she is in all black and it wearing a tight pencil skirt, her outfit shows off her figure and she is wearing red lipstick.  And she wears pants (gasp!) during the film.

 of course by the end of the movie, the roles of the two women have swapped with Sandy donning her skin-tight leather pants.

We often see the “good girl” in a-lines and soft colors and the “bad girl” in darker or richer colors and a sexy clothing like pencil skirts.

I like to think of myself more of a Frenchie, she straddles both realms and can pull off both styles.  And I always loved her pink hair 🙂

Of course there is the Donna Reed, ideal housewife, vacuuming in pearls.  She is the epitome of femininity, all grown up, married to the high school quarterback with 2.5 kids.  I love this she looks so pretty.

Then we have the Jayne Mansfield Bombshell.  She is super sexy without being trashy.  You don’t get more glamorous.

936full-jayne-mansfield thCAVMBGYH

My personal style is more rockabilly than authentic vintage, I like bright colors, big hair, tattoos, and six-inch stilettos.

My style is a mix of the Donna Reed and Jayne Mansfield, I love to look classy but I want to look sexy at the same time.  Plus, I’m not a teenager anymore so I relate a lot more to the Housewife in style and personality, as well as daily routine 🙂  It is hard to clean in super tight pencil skirts, so I have been collecting a lot more swing skirts and dresses for daily wear.

If you don’t know what your style is, I recommend watching some old movies, doing some google searches, and play with different looks until you find what suits your body and personality best.

Do you have a vintage style personality?  What characters do you relate to from movies of the era?  Do you dress more like a bad girl, a good girl, a housewife, a bombshell, a mix of a few or all?

4 thoughts on “Vintage style personality

  1. Fun post! First of all- that is one of my favorite movies, and all of the women you pictured above – I love! My style is also more Rockabilly than authentic vintage… I have pink and black hair (right now), am covered in tattoos, love heels, red lipstick, and black cat eye liner! But also like you- I love a-line and circle/swing skirts and a lot of the authentic vintage dresses- but when I wear them I always have a splash of modern rockabilly with it- sexy heels or a cardigan with something like cherries, pistols, skulls, etc. I’m really all over the board because I LOVE so many vintage and rockabilly styles!!

  2. Hey Cela! I would have to say that I would be 40% Jayne Mansfield Bombshell, 40% Frenchie and 20% Rizzo. The 40% Frenchie covers the part of me that goes about every day being a well behaved, happy go lucky and a bit flirt with a rockabilly edge, the 40% Jayne Mansfield Bombshell covers the glamour elegant “desire to be the center of attention via a wink and a smile” side AND the 20% Rizzo covers the all out “bad girl” side of me that just keeps on getting loose 🙂

  3. Love Rizzo. All the way. In the fourth grade, when my friends and would play “Pink Ladies” at the pool, everyone else wanted to be Sandy. I wanted to be Rizz!! My pinup hero’s are Jane Russell and my grandmother! Nanny is 81, I wish I had some photos of her from the forties to post, she could have given Betty Grable a run for her money.

Leave a Reply

