Clean up, everybody do their share!

Happy Saturday everyone!
It has been a crazy busy week for me.  I am taking an accelerated class, we are fitting a whole semester (16 weeks) in to 3 weeks.  It is a women’s literature class so there has been a lot more work involved than I was expecting.  I am in lecture from 9 am to 1 pm monday through thursday then for homework we have to read four novels, write 3 essays (3-4 pages), and a final essay (8-10 pages!!!) in that 3 week period.  There has been little time for anything else!

So in all of my free time, I have been tackling my 1950s housewife challenge.  I have been trying to keep up, but have fallen behind a little, I’ve had  a basket full of folded laundry sitting in my living room for a couple of days.  I am trying to get everything in the house organized, so I am doing one room at a time for that project.  I have put up pictures that have been sitting around because we didn’t have frames, bought frames for said pictures,  I moved around some shelving, got rid of a bunch of papers that were junking up drawers.  So I think overall it was a pretty productive week.

I  started keeping track of all the things I do around the house in my planner, I am actually surprised at how much I get done!

Here is a sample, this is one whole day:

Saturday 12/29

6:30 shower, get dressed

7:30 Wake up the girls, breakfast, run the dishwasher (hooray for modern conveniences)

8:30 make beds, help the girls make their beds, tidy up bedrooms

9:00 laundry (wash, dry, fold, put away, repeat), I think I did 3 or 4 loads completely through out the day

10:00 make YouTube video 🙂 I know that this isn’t traditional, but it is what I did

11:00 go to the Goodwill to drop off a bunch of old clothes

12:30 lunch

1:00 violin practice, my daughters are learning how to play the violin, it’s so freaking cute

2:00 girls take a nap, clean up from lunch, fold laundry, tidy up living room

4:00 girls get up from nap, they clean their rooms

5:00 make dinner

6:00 have dinner, then clean kitchen, load dishwasher

7:00 watch Battlestar Gallactica with hubby, a girl needs some down time

8:00 girls get ready for bedtime

8:30 bedtime

9:30 bedtime for Mama

tired-woman

then once school started again on the 31st, my day was more like this:

12/31

6:30 shower, get dressed

7:00 kids breakfast

8:00 drop girls off at mother-in-law’s house

9:00 class

1:00 class ends

1:20 pick up girls

2:00 get home, girls needed a nap, I needed a nap too but instead I tidied up the house

2:30 homework

4:00 girls wake up

5:00 dinner

5:30 dishes, clean kitchen

6:00 more homework

8:00 girls get ready for bed

8:30 bedtime, then more homework

9:30 my bedtime

blah! I hate having to cram a whole days worth of housework into like 2 hours, it’s no wonder my house is never spotless.  I am technically a stay at home mom, in that I don’t have a paying job anymore.  But I go to school full-time, my husband made a comment the other day that I am at school at least as many hours a week as he is at work,  but I go more days than he does.  I am at school usually 5 days a week and he works 3 days a week.  He has been a lot more helpful lately, he will do a load of laundry or do the dishes and he is wonderful with the kids, he is a very active father.

During this past week, I don’t know if it’s this challenge or the “feminism” class I am taking, I’ve been thinking a lot about division of labor in households.  My husband and I have taken upon ourselves very traditional gender roles.  I cook, clean, take care of the kids, decorate, etc.  He makes the money, fixes things around the house, does the yard work, does everything that needs to be done with the cars.  I am usually satisfied with our division of labor but it can be very frustrating when I come home and find a days worth of dishes piled in the sink or worse on the coffee table, and he has been at home all day.  Though we talked about it and he is trying harder to help out around the house.

How does the housework get divided out in your house?  If you are married/living with someone, do you both work outside the home or does one person stay home?  Who takes on the bulk of the domestic duties or is it pretty equal?  I would love to hear other people’s thoughts on the subject.  I feel like if I was a true stay-at-home mom and was at home 7 days a week, it would be entirely my responsiblity to keep the house clean and I would have so much time to do it in the house would be spotless.  Since I essentially work full-time, I think my husband should at least clean up after himself.

 

6 thoughts on “Clean up, everybody do their share!

  1. Our household duties are pretty much divided like yours (we both work full time) with one exception – my hubby does the dishes (he can load a dishwasher 10 times better than I can). He will help me clean the house if I ask but generally it’s easier to do it myself (and it gets done the way I want it!). Luckily we don’t have children so our house never gets too messy. 🙂

  2. I am a stay at home mom, and have 4 kids. It is very I do the house work, shopping, etc and my husband brings home the bacon, occasionally mows, and does all the repairs. Most of the time that works at my house because I do not work, other than my Avon and I usually do that with my errands. I understand your frustration though. I was working for a while, until scheduling conflicts came up, and I still did everything around the house. It’s frustrating. I feel if there are duties that are shared outside the home then the duties inside the home should be shared too. That’s just me. So, most of the time I am completely happy cooking and cleaning (until I get bored and like to take a break any way)..

    On a side note. I love your blog. It’s my favorite. I just love your values and mostly your style. Can’t wait for your next blog.

    • I actually got the idea from an article I read on glamourdaze.com. there is a link to the article in my previous post, the new years resolution one. They have an amazing website, it mostly focuses on the fashion but there’s other information as well. I always look to them for inspiration and to check on period correctness 🙂

  3. Oh my that sounds very full on, but it sounds like you’re managing well!

    In my household we both make the money but I do all of the chores like laundry, cleaning and cooking. This is because I am a perfectionist and feel that he would never be able to do those chores to my standard 😛
    But he sorts out all of the serious things like fixing things and all of the paper work like paying bills, stuff that I have no interest in doing! I like it this way 😀

Leave a Reply

