As the holidays are upon us, I know that a lot of people become preoccupied with food and therefore weight.  Thanksgiving and Christmas are filled with yummy (very fattening) treats, I love sweets; my Pinterest is filled with cake, pies, candy, and cupcake recipes! I am, however, about to finish my first year of getting healthy, so it will also be the first holiday season that I will be limiting myself in my indulgences.

About a year and a half ago, I was at the heaviest I had ever been.  I weighed as much and more as when I was 2 weeks overdue with my first baby!  I topped out at 195 lbs, I am 5’3″ so it was pretty obvious.  That much extra weight on my frame was substantial.  I was miserable and tired all the time, I got winded walking from the car to the front door carrying groceries.  It was effecting my life in a big way, my relationship was suffering, I didn’t have any energy to play with my kids, my husband was unhappy.  I decided that I was going to do something about it finally, my man deserved someone who took care of herself, my kids deserved to have a mom who was able to play with soccer or go on hikes with them, and above all I deserved to be healthy and happy, I deserved to feel sexy!

I’m pretty embarrassed of the before pictures, I didn’t realise how big I was until I actually looked at pictures of me in a bathing suit.

As you can see, the misery showed on my face! I was 195 lbs, my measurements were 44/37/46 and I was about to go up to a size 16.

I started with p90x, I bought the dvd set, I started at least once a month but it would never last more than a week or two.  I was always finding an excuse to not work out; I have finals or its Thanksgiving, blah blah blah! I did lose about 10 lbs in the first 4 months.  It wasn’t until February of 2012 that I really got fed up with it and made the commitment.  I signed up for the gym at my school and I scheduled gym time into my day.  I discovered Crossfit, which is an amazing workout.  I highly reccommend it, it combines weightlifting with intense cardio.  I did Crossfit two days a week and Pilates two days a week, I also started running.  I changed my diet habits, changed my portion sizes (I didn’t need to be eating as much as my husband), stopped buying energy drinks.

Now 9 months later, I am down 50 lbs! I weigh 145 lbs, and my measurements are 40/27/38; that is a 10 inch reduction on my waist and 6 inches on my bust and hips! I also lost about 5 inches on my thighs and now they are like rocks!  The best part is not the weight loss itself, though that is pretty awesome, but how much better I feel about myself.  I am strong and I love to do something in a workout that I had previously not been able to do.  I have so much more energy now, I don’t need caffeine, I can even wake up in the morning without an alarm clock.  I love that I can be a good role model to my girls, to show them how important being healthy and active is.  I need to take some real “after” pictures, to better compare.

I feel like there is a lot of pressure put on women to be “skinny”, when the goal should always to be healthy.  I will never be a size 0, nor would I want to be.  I will always be curvy, I have a large bust, a small waist and big hips.  I love my Pinup shape!

So this year, when all the yummy food is being passed around, I will indulge a little (that’s why its called an indulgence) but I will limit myself to one piece of pie.  I feel that it is one of those “all things in moderation” instances, I wouldn’t want to undo all of my hard work 🙂

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!  What are your Thanksgiving/holiday plans? Do you feel like there is pressure to eat when celebrating the Holidays? How do these massive eating holidays contradict with our societal expectations of how a woman should look and behave? I know, the questions are deep 😉

10 thoughts on “

  1. You look amazing! I love that hair color in the after pictures! I think everyone stresses about many things during the holidays and that is when we start to binge. What has worked for me in the past, is visioning what my temptations will be, turning them down in my visualization, and also knowing that I will indulging a little more and how much that indulgence will be. An extra class of wine, some pie, cookies? What is something that I can have a little of and not feel deprived? And always make sure I make time for my workouts, and add lots of veggies, in green smoothies and juices. Good luck during the holidays, your progress is great!

    • I think that is the key! It is ok to have a “treat” every once in a while, but if you have them all the time its a habit not a treat. I have found that when a “dieter” deprives themselves of something, sweets, bread, etc., they feel like they are missing something then get cravings for that food. If we let ourselves eat what we want, in reasonable amounts, and most of our diet is healthy, it is a lot better for us. And nobody sticks to a diet, it has to be a lifestyle change.

  2. You are so, SO gorgeous!!!!!!! You did such a good job loosing weight the healthy way, which is the most important part because it means you don’t have to worry about gaining it back really quickly if you indulge. I know a lot of girls who’ve just been silly and lost weight by those crazy fad diets or just starving, and then once the holidays come they just pile it back on because their body goes into shock and starts to store fat.

    I definitely find there to be a lot of pressure to eat during the holidays. But the way I look at it, watch your portions and then that way you can have a bit of everything! And of course exercise, last year I was all “oh it’s nearly Christmas, no point in working out” but this year I am determined to stick to my workout routine even if it is the holidays. At the same time, the holidays are all about enjoying yourself, so don’t worry too much about weight! Any extra lbs will just drop off in the new year anyway 🙂

  3. This was such an inspiring post! Thank you so much for sharing your pictures with us! I know that must be very tough, I do not think I could. I dont even want to look at myself in a bikini let alone take a picture to share with the world, amazing kudos to you for your strength not only for that but for doing well with changing your diet and eating habits. I too, am 5’4 and 217 lbs and a size 16, its now gotten to the point where I am disgusted ( I dont know what took me so long ) and I have tried to change my eating habits and exercise more. It’s only been a short time so I dont have any results just yet, but I am trying rewards, that the more I exercise buying myself a treat liek a nail polish or a pair of shoes depending on the weight loss etc. but I know that once I do loose the weight I won’t need the incentive really and even just since I have started to exercise I already do feel better. Good luck with your continued weight loss, I agree with you, I do not want to be a size 0, I never was and was always larger chested as well when I was skinnuier, but I do want to be healthy. so I just wanted to thank you, I loved this post and love your blog, your clothes are amazing and I love your hair!

    • Good job, getting started is the hardest part! I’m so glad that I could help to inspire you 🙂 I have noticed that as I have gotten stronger and healthier, it becomes way easier to motivate myself to continue, it has gotten to the point where I can’t skip my workout or I feel like crap the rest of the day. Its so important to be healthy and to love yourself and feel good about yourself, as opposed to being “skinny”. Keep it up and take advatage of the small milestones, they add up quick!

  4. Thank you for being brave enough to share, our stories (weight gain & loss) are very similar. I am still have more to lose, but finally found the will power to continue working on it. You look amazing and you should be very proud:)

Leave a Reply

